Trauma care in Ocala, Florida

Ocala Health is proud to have the first and only trauma center serving the Trauma Service Area (TSA) 6, made up of Marion, Citrus and Hernando counties. Ocala Regional Medical Center is a verified Level II Trauma Center designated by the Florida Department of Health's Office of Trauma.

Our experienced trauma doctors and specialists provide prompt, critical treatment to meet the most serious needs and save the lives of people in North Central Florida.

If someone is experiencing an emergency, call 911 immediately. For non-emergent information about our trauma services, please call our Consult-A-Nurse® team at (800) 530-1188.

At Ocala Regional Medical Center, we have a trained emergency care team prepared at any moment to handle any medical emergency. Trauma is used to describe a specific type of medical emergency requiring specialized, heightened training and treatment.

Trauma can be defined as a wound or injury. Examples of medically traumatic events include:

  • Assault
  • Burn
  • Fall
  • Gunshot wounds
  • Motor vehicle collision
  • Sports injury

What is a trauma center?

A trauma center is a type of hospital with trauma surgeons, neurosurgeons and other surgical and non-surgical specialists available 24/7.

Trauma centers provide timely, quality emergency medical care to help patients who have experienced trauma return to their lives and/or adapt to any permanent changes.

As a Level II Trauma Center in Florida, we are required to have trauma surgeons on-call 24/7. However, Ocala Regional Medical Center goes above and beyond these requirements by having trauma surgeons on-site at all times.

Trauma surgeons are versatile physicians. They perform trauma surgery, general surgery and provide critical care in our Intensive Care Unit (ICU).

Trauma center network

Ocala Regional Medical Center is part of a network of five trauma centers. This partnership between the University of South Florida (USF) and HCA Healthcare forms the first statewide network of trauma centers. The goal of the network is to improve access and outcomes of injured patients.

Who is served by our trauma center?

In addition to serving TSA 6 (Marion, Hernando and Citrus counties), our trauma center also treats patients from Lake, Levy and Sumter counties.

The "golden hour" is the time period (of a few minutes to several hours) after a traumatic event when prompt medical treatment has the highest likelihood of decreasing disability and death.

Before Ocala Regional Medical Center became a designated trauma center, emergency medical services (EMS) and first responder teams had to transport patients to facilities outside our region to Gainesville and Tampa. However, our Level II Trauma Center in Ocala now decreases transportation times by more than 28 minutes—providing North Central Florida greater access to expert trauma care our community deserves.

How can you prevent injuries?

Injury is one of the leading causes of death and disability in the U.S. Ocala Health recognizes that comprehensive trauma care includes preventing injuries from happening in the first place.

Partnering with local agencies, organizations and facilities, we participate in community-based interventions, events and activities to help educate the community on ways to prevent injuries or other trauma.

The Ocala Health Injury Prevention Program is dedicated to preventing injuries, deaths and disabilities. Ocala Health promotes injury prevention through the following events and programs:

  • Save a Life Tour
  • Fall Prevention Awareness events
  • Injury Prevention Ad Hoc Committee
  • Ocala Fire Rescue referrals for home safety inspections
  • Matter of Balance workshops
  • Trauma Awareness Month
  • Professional community injury prevention education and outreach
  • CarFit
  • Advocacy Resource Center (ARC) BikeFest motorcycle safety
  • Trauma Transitional Care Network