Ocala Regional Medical Center

1431 SW 1st Ave
Ocala, FL 34471
Phone: (352) 877-9269

Map & Directions

Summerfield ER

14193 S US Hwy 441
Summerfield, FL 34491
Phone: (352) 245-4440

Map & Directions

West Marion Community Hospital

4600 SW 46th Ct
Ocala, FL 34474
Phone: (352) 291-3000

Map & Directions

Ocala Regional Medical Center is a Verified Level II Trauma Center designated by the Florida Department of Health, Office of Trauma. This designation provides Trauma Service Area (TSA) 6, comprised of Marion, Hernando, and Citrus Counties, with its first and only trauma center.

What is trauma?

Trauma can be defined as a wound or injury. The following are examples of traumatic events.

  • Fall
  • Motor vehicle collision
  • Assault
  • Sports injury

What is a trauma center?

According to the Florida Department of Health, a trauma center is a type of hospital that has trauma surgeons, neurosurgeons and other surgical and non-surgical specialists available at a moment’s notice. Along with the physician team, medical personnel, equipment, and facilities are available 24 hours-a-day, seven-days-a-week for immediate or follow-up treatment.

Having a trauma center in our community takes everyone working together – hospitals, paramedics, physicians – to determine the best treatment plan for each patient. Trauma centers provide timely and quality emergency medical care to help individuals affected by a serious injury continue to live to their full potential. Around-the-clock surgeons and specialists ensure the best possible care.

Types of Trauma Centers

There are three types of trauma centers in Florida:

  • Level II – Similar to a level I facility without the research requirement. In Ocala, the Level II Trauma Center also participates in and coordinates research
  • Level I – Full service facility including residents and performs research
  • Pediatric – Provides full level I services to pediatric (≤ 15 years) trauma patients

Who is served by our trauma center?

Marion, Citrus, and Hernando Counties make up the state-designated Trauma Service Area (TSA) 6 which will is served by the trauma center at Ocala Regional Medical Center. However, the trauma center also cares for patients from Lake, Sumter, and Levy Counties.

The golden hour refers to a time period lasting from a few minutes to several hours following trauma, during which there is the highest likelihood that prompt medical treatment will help to decrease death and disability. Prior to Ocala Regional becoming a trauma center, EMS and first responder teams were required to transport patients to facilities outside TSA 6 to centers in Gainesville and Tampa. In addition to decreasing transport times by more than 28 minutes, the rapid access to a trauma center provides timely care, decreasing mortality. The trauma center at Ocala Regional Medical Center is here to serve the community – providing high quality, local trauma care at your doorstep in North Central Florida.